FLINT, MICH. – Nov. 25, 2013 – The Specialty Pharmacy Certification Board has announced that 49 pharmacists from across the United States have earned their Certified Specialty Pharmacist™ endorsement. This elite group of practitioners is the first to be awarded the CSP™, a credential that indicates the holder is an expert in specialty pharmaceuticals. Of the 49 recognized, four are employed at Diplomat, the nation’s largest independent specialty pharmacy.

The Diplomat pharmacists who have earned the CSP credential are Gary Rice, vice president of clinical services; Michael Crowe, clinical technology manager; Nicole Hubach, pharmacy manager; and Ryan Nolan, clinical manager.

“I’m very excited to be one of the first Diplomat pharmacists to earn the CSP credential,” Crowe stated. “Diplomat has provided me with many opportunities to develop my expertise in specialty pharmacy. I encourage pharmacists and pharmacy students to explore the industry, as its growth will continue for the foreseeable future.”

The CSP certification exam was offered for the first time in October and covered four separate areas: intake, fulfillment, clinical management and outcomes. Future examinations will be available in April and October of each year.

To learn more, visit spcboard.org.

About the Specialty Pharmacy Certification Board

The Specialty Pharmacy Certification Board is an independent, not-for-profit organization that provides professional development opportunities for specialty pharmacy professionals. The SPCB is not affiliated with any trade or professional associations.

Contacts: Barbara Fornasiero, EAFocus Communications: 248.651.7536; Cell: 586.817.8414; barbara@eafocus.com. Abigail Bearman, Diplomat: 810-768-9563; abearman@diplomatpharmacy.com.